Alright Already, Relax

Yo. You guys. I don’t remember how to blog. Seriously. WordPress went ahead and changed their entire layout so that when I made my triumphant return I would be lost and confused. It’s working.

So I’m a homeowner!! Yikes! I get to go to bed every night and wake up every morning in a quiet home on a quiet street and it’s all mine! Also, this coming week will be my last week on night shift – I’m about to be thrust into the chaos that is dayshift, fully equipped with a normal sleep schedule, whatever that is. I kind of sucked at running for a while there. With the move and trying to make our house look like a home, it’s been understandably busy. Not busy enough where I didn’t have time to get out and get moving, I just didn’t make it a priority like it should have been. But I still have 10 weeks until Iron Horse, and I’m back on the wagon, so things are good.

I’ve also sucked at Cannonball Read. I’m officially TWELVE books behind schedule. Ugh. I’ll get there. Hopefully.

What has really become the biggest time suck has been furniture shopping and trying to figure out how to decorate our wonderful money pit. Do we want something clean and sterile looking? Industrial? Hobo chic? Matchy matchy or loosey goosey? The hardest part has been trying to find stuff that fits our needs on a budget. Joss and Main has cute stuff but some of it is very expensive, and 80% of buying a couch is sitting on it, amiright? IKEA was such a letdown. We were interested in some of the bedroom furniture (i.e., dressers, etc.) but the couches and other tables were so low to the ground! Joel said he’s too old to be doing all that bending. I don’t necessarily disagree. So right now until we find what we need, we have two apartments worth of furniture, in all its mismatched glory, displayed for all to see.

What we have been able to move forward with, is paint. Glorious, wondrous, odorous paint. I have always held off painting our rentals because even though it’s cheap, I don’t want to re-paint when we were moving out. Especially the townhouse. We could not have moved out of there faster. It was like pulling teeth to get either of us motivated to get back there and clean up. I didn’t even want to go to the walk through. Let alone going back and putting two coats of primer on that mother. Ugh. I could not think of a worse thing. Literally.

So how have you all been? It’s only been six months since I steadily posted and I want to hear about what you’re up to!!

xoxo

4 thoughts on “Alright Already, Relax

Leave a Reply

