I Got to Go Home Early!

Sucka.

 

So instead of having another title like, “I’m Back!” or, “I’m the Worst Blogger Ever!” I would just like to move past that and pretend that I’m a great blogger and not promise anything for the future. Sound good? Kgreatthanks.

I did a lot of soul searching this weekend, mostly because I had a sinus infection of death, and I came around to a few conclusions. I was really toying with the idea of not participating in the Disney Princess Half in February because I have had no desire to train for it. I was going to sell my bib to a friend under the table and just move on with my life. People withdraw all the time, people get injured, people don’t show up, etc. etc. I really was more worried about paying for a Disney vacation on top of running a race I don’t want to train for. (Still worried about that, btw.) But then I looked at a calendar, and I realized that I can do this. And it will be better than the Iron Horse. Because I’m determined to have more fun and to be in better shape for this race. I’m not worried about time. I just want to have fun. And I want to run a race in a tutu, dammit.

 

Yup.

 

But, having come to that conclusion, I’ve also come to another: running isn’t my favorite thing. Yup. I said it. It’s just not. I will use it for cardio, and if there are some good looking 5k or 10k races in my area I’ll consider it, but I think this may be my last half marathon unless something, or someone, changes my mind down the road. My heart just isn’t in it. I like the way that it makes me feel afterward, endorphins and all that, but it’s really not a passion that I can continue to pursue. Even when I was running regularly, and got faster, I still kind of disliked it. So, this is kind of my running as a regular sport retirement speech.

 

 

One thing that does get me moving, and excited, is dance. Which is why I think I was so drawn to Zumba at first. But the environment for these Zumba classes leaves much to be desired. I still have a punch card, so I’ll probably finish it out, but I’m not like gonna drop beaucoup pesos on some flashy cargos with tassels if you catch my drift.

 

Cargos.

 

But that got me thinking, why can’t I take dance classes again? Why can’t I see what’s going on in Lexington dance for grown ups? So I started looking. And I found some promising classes. But then I was all, “Oh man, it’s been almost 10 years since I’ve taken a dance class! Plus I’m a fat kid!” But then I replied to myself, “Who gives a shit?” And that was settled.

 

The only issue is that these classes are sometimes more expensive than say, joining a gym or something, but a lot of places offer a punch card type deal as well. So you pay for what you use or come to, and you don’t have to pay out the nose if you know you’re going to miss class every other week. Anyway, this is all semantics, and I’ll fill you in more later, when I actually get to take class next year. Since everyone is on Nutcracker/winter break. But I’ve been doing some pilates to gear up, and I’m pumped.

 

See what I did there?

 

Last thing I really need to talk about is work. Yeah – I totally got to go home early today! We cleared out/discharged a ton of patients and I got to leave! It was awesome! Since I’m back at work tomorrow, I used that time wisely: I trudged out for a terrible run, where I met a cat, and then ate some steak with Joelle. Yay! The only other note that I want to bring up about work is that I plan to really reflect on where I am and make some goals, some confessions, and to hopefully admit that I am further along in my nursing practice than I think I am when I am in the thick of it. My start date at the hospital was at the end of January, so I will probably get something ready around that time.

 

SO!!

How often do you go to Disneyworld? Any tips on saving money while staying on the property? Have you done any soul searching recently? How did that turn out? I can’t wait to hear about it!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “I Got to Go Home Early!

  1. Wow! What a loaded post!! I think it’s great that you have decided to run the Disney race. It is a lot of fun with a lot of entertainment along the course. I think I could have walked the whole thing and had more fun than running it! I love the dance fitness classes too. They are a great cardio workout! I sweat like a beast during those, even more so than when I run! Glad to see you back to blogging!

Leave a Reply

