Restriction

Wednesday's Workout

Wednesday’s Workout

I’m a few days into my challenge and I’m feeling great. I’m doing really well with getting active every day and making mindful choices about what I put into my body. I’ve had a few indulgences, sure, but I haven’t gorged to the point where I feel bad physically or mentally. I know that it has only been a few days but this has been a very good jumping off point for me. I can’t wait until my Shakeology comes (either Friday or next week, I’m guessing it will depend on this crazy weather we’ve been having) and my new program as well, so that I can really get busy.

I’m not going to share the program until I can show some results, which will really force me to adhere to the schedule and eating plan. I’m determined to make a change in my health, that will help me on the inside as well as the outside. Since I have shared that I’m restarting Shakeology (which I cancelled before based on budgetary concerns while I was still in school), you probably guessed that the program I am starting will be a Beachbody product as well, but that is where the clues end!!

One thing that I have found that does not work for me is restricting foods completely or changing to a “healthy” version of them. I’m not talking about organic things versus conventional, but fake foods that are just made from chemicals and additives. I would rather eat real food in a smaller amount and prepared in a more healthful way, than to fill my system with diet foods that taste like nothing. That is why I have such an issue with a lot of plans out there. I want an egg, I don’t want a bottle of egg white product. I want cheese, not a fake cheese spread. See what I’m getting at here? So while I am being careful of portions and how many grams of carbs/protein/fat I’m taking in, I’m not restricting myself to certain brands or weird food that I don’t like. How can I sustain a food plan if I don’t like the food in it? I like eating, and if I’m miserable doing it, I’ll just go back to what tastes good, even if it isn’t actually good for me.

I’ve also been doing great with my only spending money on essential items goal for the month. I love saving money! It helps that I have a lot of gift cards from Christmas that I can use instead of my income, to save a little bit. Now let’s just remember how great it feels to save money the next time I walk past a Finish Line… I’ve also been thinking about switching over to a cash system, or to only use a credit card (once I pay them off) and pay down the balance every month. All things that can be decided in time, but for now I’m just paying down my debts and cushioning my bank account a bit.

How is your January going? Are your resolutions still holding up?

xoxo

One thought on “Restriction

  1. I can’t wait to hear what you think of shakeology. Seems to be all the rage right now. I could definitely use a boost where my nutrition fails. Wish I could say my January was fabulous but I started out the New Year with the flu. :( At least it will end in sunny Florida….Can’t wait for some warmth!!

Leave a Reply

