Maintain, maintain, maintain

So I just finished week six, day one of the couch to 5k program. It was challenging. Even though it was back to shorter intervals, it was raining so I had to do it on the treadmill. I’m not a big fan of the treadmill. I don’t know why I used to be so against running outside but now I love it because it’s so easy! You don’t have to fiddle with buttons or worry about falling off the track (which happens often for me, no judging). When you want to run, you run, when you want to walk, you walk! It’s amazing how we’ve made things so complicated.

I read somewhere that people who work outside often do better and feel better because they don’t feel like its work. I can attest to that. I never get as far on the treadmill as I do on our trail behind our house, and I always feel like I’m counting down the seconds to my next walking interval when I’m inside. I guess it’s just easier to zone out when you aren’t stuck in a smelly, hot room with equipment you don’t want to touch. Ugh.

So anywho, I did 2.28 miles in 34 minutes and averaged a little over 13:00 min/mile. That’s pretty good for me. However, when I hopped on the scale after my stretches, I haven’t lost an ounce. We attribute this to Thanksgiving, so at least I didn’t gain. Hopefully next week will be better.

I’ve been having some tightness in my right calf over the past week. It started last Sunday and stayed with me all week even though I didn’t run at all. I was hoping that the break would help it, but here I am a week later with the same pain. It doesn’t hurt while I’m running, just after. And sometimes it gets so bad I want to cry. My exhaustive online research tells me it’s delayed onset muscle soreness, so I’m trying to stretch more and switch up my fitness. Looks like I may be doing more work out videos this week.

Even though I maintained this week, I have to admit I’m proud that I have reached this point in my running. Like I mentioned earlier, I don’t think I’ve ever run for twenty minutes straight and I did it yesterday. Honestly I think that’s what got me through my treadmill routine today. Just knowing that I completed what I never thought I could.

One thought on “Maintain, maintain, maintain

Leave a Reply

