More Boobs

Allow me to share with you more trials and tribulations on my journey to find the perfect sports bra for large chests and high impact activities.

Va Va Sport Bra by Athleta
20120705-152745.jpg

This one is not terrible. It’s another one of those awkward situations where you have to put it over your head, adjust your boobs, and then try to blindly fasten to hooks on the right row in the back. Given all of that, I find it has good bounce support even without underwire, and though it’s not perfect, it’s much better than doubling up on regular compression bras. At $54 it’s probably the cheapest of the bunch I’m reviewing today, and they did just come out with a cute pink color that I might snag. My only complaint is that it can get a little snug/uncomfortable in the clavicle area. Weird, but that’s my conclusion. It’s held up well in the wash and while not the most attractive of bras, it could be much worse. I give it 3/5 stars.

Panache Women’s Underwired Sports Bra by Panache
20120705-152916.jpg

This one is my favorite of the ones discussed today. It’s my first underwire sports bra but I couldn’t tell much difference in the times I’ve spent working out in it. There are several things that I really like about this bra: there’s a racer back option, it has very nicely padded straps, and each breast is individually encapsulated ensuring absolutely no uniboob! Amazing! I really think its quite comfortable. I prefer to use the racer back option when I’m jogging and the regular strap configuration any other time. And the racer back is simple, there is a hook, and you latch it to the other strap. Done. No unhooking straps and then cross crossing and then not putting them back in properly so that you lose one during your adventures. A lot of reviewers have complained that the straps aren’t long enough to do the racer back, but I haven’t had that problem if I loosen them all the way. There aren’t a lot of color options, and I found the sizing to be a little off. I had to order a band size bigger in this bra than I would normally wear. No big deal, it just meant that I couldn’t get the color I wanted. This one runs about $65 on Amazon and other sites. I tend to order off of Amazon even though it’s fulfilled by Panache since Amazon has free shipping, but that’s just me. Also holds up well in the wash and dries pretty quickly. 4.5/5 stars for price and lacking colors. And the fact that I had to send it back and get another one. I may fluctuate in other sizes but my bra size rarely does. I think it’s an overseas thing though, because I ran into the same problem with this next bra too.

Shock Absorber Women’s Run Sports Bra by Shock Absorber
20120705-153016.jpg

Another British company, Shock Absorber has done a great deal of research to decrease the amount of bounce in high impact activities. But again, I had issues with the band size. However, they do not offer a larger band size so I couldn’t exchange it for a larger one. I like it too much to send it back, so I’m just working on losing some of the chub around my rib cage, and hopefully I can get more wear out of this one. This one has no underwire, but it does have a crazy clasp thing between the shoulder blades. Once you figure out how to do it you’re golden but until then this can almost be considered your warmup. Tip: it’s easier if you fasten the hooks, slide the bra on like a regular bra and then fasten the extra clasp. The only thing I don’t like about the clasp is that it’s made of a hard plastic and you’re super aware of it on your first run before you get used to the feeling. It’s not uncomfortable, it’s just weird feeling something there that normally isn’t. I feel super sporty in this bra. The material is great, and I really don’t bounce at all. Great support for a non-underwire bra. 4/5 stars, even though I hardly wear it. That’s how much I like it. These run from $45-$80 on Amazon. Not sure about the discrepancy there but it is what it is. I think I paid about $55.

Some others worth mentioning:
I have yet to try the Enell Sports Bra but it’s supposed to be the best ever. I’m a little intimidated by the satiny finish and the 300 hooks.
I have also tried the Under Armour Endure bra with disastrous results. I followed the sizing guide, and even tried to order bigger, but I almost lost a nipple. It was traumatizing. Plus I’m terrified that the zipper would give in the middle of a workout like those Subway commercials and I would kill someone. No bueno.

I feel like I should also mention that I have jogged, ellipticized, and done Turbo Jam/Fire workouts in all of the bras. Any questions I’d love to answer, but I’m still on the quest. So until I find that 5/5, there will be more of these.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

