Big Fat Fail

20120713-143310.jpg

On Wednesday I went for Week 5/Day 3 in my compression sleeves and quite simply, it was awful. I wasn’t having trouble with pain during my runs, just after, but with the sleeves on I had pain with every step I took. I left them on thinking it would get better but it never did. I slid them down during my cool down because I just couldn’t take it anymore. I instantly felt relief but I still don’t feel back to normal.

I’ve been foam rolling since my leg workout and it’s been helping quite a bit, even though it can be almost excruciating at the time since its essentially a deep tissue massage. I’ve been focusing on my hips, thighs, calves, and glutes and the only thing that isn’t completely relieved are my calves. But I’m going to keep up with it because I’m seeing positive (if slower) results.

I’ve also been in touch with my local run shop to figure out what I can do about shoes. Because my problem usually occurs pretty soon after I start running I’m thinking that it’s either how I’m running or what I’m running in. Runner’s World has suggested some shoes, Road Runner Sports have suggested some different ones, but I’m going to wait until I hear back from my run shop. I hate having to drop another $100 on shoes but I really would like to complete a freaking run without pain. And I do believe it’s possible because I’ve done it.

What do you run/walk in? I love my Nike’s dearly but I believe they are the culprit even though they have probably only 100 miles on them.

I walked two miles on the treadmill this morning and I felt okay while it was happening. I’m a little cramped up now but when I get home (from the most boringest class of all time) I’ll roll and it’ll be good.

xoxo

5 thoughts on “Big Fat Fail

  1. John says:

    Have you got a local running club? It might be an idea to go along to one and see what they think. It might be your running shoes and/or your running style? Also, have you seen a physio or sports therapist and described your problems?

    • amandakash says:

      We do have some local clubs, but with school full time and work part time, it’s hard to work with someone else’s schedule. I haven’t seen a doc mainly bc I’m broke and don’t want him to refer me to a physio and have to go 3x/wk at $25 a pop. Which is usually how they roll.

  2. Charlotte says:

    Amanda…what’s hurting you exactly? Is it shins? Ankles? Feet? If shins, then it very well could be overstriding or simply trying to run too much to start. If feet, it could very well be shoes. If ankles….it could be a host of things. On the Zensa sleeves, there is absolutely zero research that says these things are of any benefit to you while running….zilch, nada. What research does find is that they help with recovery. Plus, I know you went to the shop and got sized but I can guarantee you that even though they sized you in the larges, you could take a small/med. I have gigantic calves and I got the small/med. Those old guys don’t think sometimes. You can tell ’em I said it. Jim said it too, and he’s an old guy that works down there.
    Finding the right shoe can take some time. I personally love the Pegasus (the shoe you have) but I prefer to run in something sleeker like the Mizuno Waverider. That said, I have very narrow feet, neutral stride, and a medium arch- my shoe dream could be your shoe nightmare.
    Jim’s here actually….reads your email, says it’s calves. How do the calves hurt? Is it microtrauma pain- aka the pain you might have after a workout in the gym? Do you have good flexibility in the calves presently?

    • amandakash says:

      Yes, Charlotte, the pain is soreness and tightness. Currently I don’t have very good flexibility but I feel like I did previously. I’ve been doing the stair stretches a lot and foam rolling and I just don’t know that anything is helping. It feels okay for a hot second and then it just goes back to being tight and sore.
      How’s your rehab going? I’ve been thinking about you as I’m slowly bored to death in public health.

      • Charlotte says:

        Ah yes…public health. It be over before you know it (thankfully).
        Knee rehab is going slowly. I can run about 40 mins now but not on back to back days. Incidentally, I’ve been having kind of the same thing in my surgery leg calf since I started back. I have attributed it to loss of flexibility in addition to weakness. I walk around find. I still can’t squat down and pop up like I used to but whether that’s surgery or old age is difficult to tell.

Leave a Reply

