Part of My Journey

20120802-150520.jpg

It was very humbling for me to realize one day, that the reason I was so uncomfortable in class was not the obnoxious desks or terrible lighting, but the fact that my pants were a size too small. In the summer of 2010 I was doing really well on Weight Watchers, had lost 30 lbs, and I had hit a plateau. I was unmotivated, I stopped tracking, and I didn’t want to make time to plan and eat properly or get my butt moving. Then everyone died.

I’m an emotional eater, so this added to my problems. Within a week I had lost both of my grandmothers, which was a devastating blow. I was, and am, very close with my family, and to lose two key figures like that was just unbelievable to me. So I closed myself off from the world emotionally, and slowly but surely the pounds crept back on. Pretty soon I was back to my pre-WW weight, which is (to my knowledge) the most I’ve ever weighed. Then I started nursing school.

Even if I was as on top of my studies as I like to think I am, I still wouldn’t have time for everything in this program. We complete our degree requirements in 16 months, and it’s grueling. So much so that we are the last class to embark on this schedule, the next class will have theirs extended a semester (I think that makes it ~20 months). I do not exaggerate when I say that I am physically drained by the time I get home from school. So if there’s not food in the refrigerator ready to cook (which I also don’t want to do usually), then we likely eat out somewhere, and then I usually have to buy a lunch out somewhere the next day too. It’s a pretty vicious cycle.

This summer, when the A/C died in my car, I started carpooling with some friends who were nice enough to let me tag along. We’ve been embarking on a journey to increase our fitness, and for most of us, we’d like to lose weight too. For a while I would just sit on the elliptical, but I’ve never noticed results on that machine, no matter what workout I do or how hard I push. So I’m trying to broaden my horizons. You guys know about the running, I talk about it often enough, but it has really been a struggle for me to get over these injuries that I don’t understand. I feel like I’m never going to finish this godforsaken 5k program, because my legs will probably break or I’ll get run over by a truck.

Anyway, the whole purpose of this post was to say that through some efforts of my own, I lost a few pounds here and there, and then a little less than a month ago I started tracking my food and fitness on myfitnesspal. I’ve lost about another 7 lbs, and I was able to wear the pants today that were so uncomfortable a few months ago. I enjoyed that, so I wanted to share it.

Do you have anything you’d like to share? Because I’d love to hear it. I’m going to continue reporting on my weight loss as time goes on. There is a tracker in my About Me page that updates as the site does – pretty cool. I hope that I have a lot more stories like this to report. Myfitnesspal is very easy to use and it’s been my favorite free app that I’ve tried. Plus, um, it’s free.

So anyway, until next time!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Part of My Journey

Leave a Reply

