You Can’t Win Them All

Keep Getting Up

So I slept in today, probably as a result of the margaritas we had last night. One of our good friend’s birthday was on Wednesday and we all went out to dinner last night to celebrate. Last year her and I had a joint birthday dinner extravaganza because our birthdays are a week apart, but this year we kept it separate. Probably because it got a little too rowdy last year… Anyway, I digress. Since I slept in, I didn’t go out for my normal before breakfast Saturday run. I was thinking that I wasn’t going to go at all, but then I looked at everyone’s posts on facebook talking about how they love the weather. So I look up our weather and see that it’s only 72 outside so I decide to go, even though I’ve already eaten breakfast and it’s 12:30.

Turns out it wasn’t 72, it was really more like 88. I was hot, I was sluggish, my legs were so heavy, I was thirsty, and overall this was not a good run for me. I kept pushing, even though I had that horrible phlegm in my mouth. Kept telling myself just to make it to the finish line, even though my lips were chapped and dry. I know that not all of my runs are going to be perfect and that bad runs build character, or something like that. It was definitely a challenge. My times were okay I guess. And my distances are getting better but I’m still not able to run the full 5k. I had to stop and walk for a few seconds at the top of a hill because I literally could not continue to pick up my feet. But I finished, eventually, and it wasn’t pretty. I can just hope that my next run will be better than this one.

This was my first time trying out my Nike+ app and I was kind of confused about it at first. I didn’t know if I could program a warmup and a cooldown, I didn’t know if the app would keep counting after I reached my distance, etc. I still don’t know about the first part, but it does keep track of what you’re doing until you stop your workout. There are also three different modes you can choose from: basic run, distance run, or time run. Then it counts out milestones based on which one you chose and your goal. I chose distance run and chose the 5k distance. Taking out my warmup walk of 0.3, I ran 2.81 miles. I wanted to just add on the 0.3 to the end, but the way this run was shaping up I just couldn’t do it. So we’ll work on that for next time.

On the plus side, I foam rolled my claves and quads before this excursion and I had zero, that’s right zero leg pain. They weren’t nagging at all, even in the first mile that it usually takes them to warm up. Yayyyy. So, I’m going to keep up with my post-run icing, princess sleeping, and copious stretching.

Bright side: Even though my run sucked balls, my nagging calf pain didn’t bother me at all. Win!!

xoxo

3 thoughts on “You Can’t Win Them All

  1. SlimShanaynay says:

    You got out there and did it, and thats all that matters. I hate crappy runs too. I need to look into these foam rollers… also some compression sleeves from what I hear. My calves scream when I run, and I really want that to stop. If it weren’t for that, I would be farther ahead in C25K

    • amandakash says:

      I didn’t have any luck with the compression sleeves I bought. The research says they help more if used during recovery versus training, but I didn’t see a difference either way. Oh, they did make my calf pain worse when I ran with them on. I would suggest foam rolling and making sure you really, really stretch, especially after. Icing after a run (after my shower) has really helped me too. And if you get the bigger foam roller, you can still use it for your calves as well as your other muscles. I usually do calf and Achilles stretches on the stairs, downward dog, runners lunge, and some quad stretches. I think my legs finally caught up with me. Or sleeping with pillows under my legs did the trick.

    • amandakash says:

      Oh, have you been fitted for running shoes? I had, but the shoes didn’t do as well as we had hoped, so I went back in and got new shoes and I think that helped too.

Leave a Reply

