Bridge to 10K – Day One + School and Other Tidbits

I downloaded a free app that has the same running program as the Bluefin Software one (which costs $2.99 *without the GPS which is $.99 extra*) and I used it this morning. I wasn’t a huge fan. I guess because I was used to the style and polish of the Bluefin app, it couldn’t really compete. Plus there was no journal, that I could see, or a way to evaluate your previous runs, which is a shame. So I bought the Bluefin one, because I’m a loser, and I input my data from my run into that one, even though I didn’t use it, and I got this:

Image

I really needed to stretch afterwards, but I still had to take a shower and get to class and I didn’t have a lot of time. Does anybody else feel like they don’t run as fast on the treadmill? I think I’ve brought this up before, but to me, I feel like I’m running at the same pace that I do outside, but I run like two minutes faster per mile than I do on the treadmill. I ran one interval at 5 and that was a little much, so I did the rest of them between 4.5 and 4.7. Then for the last three minutes I ran at 5.5 just to push myself. Am I this slow because I weigh this much? I feel like I’m getting stronger and I don’t feel like I’m necessarily going to die after every run, but I’m still not getting much faster. What’s the solution? More strength training? More rest? More stretching? Or do I just keep plugging away and eventually I’ll get there?

Today was school from 9AM – 3PM. What a wonderful way to spend my birthday! Bahaha, that’s right, I have now turned the ripe ole age of 26! I don’t feel any different. I think I felt different last year, but now that I’ve hit that peak I’ll just worry about turning 30! Nothing special is going on tonight because Joel had a death in his family, so we’re having dinner in and then getting ready to head down to his mom and dad’s for the next day or so. Then I’ll come back for more class on Friday and clinical orientation Saturday. I’m thinking that Saturday will be the big group outing. Don’t you love it when your life doesn’t let you celebrate? Hahaha, I know that there are all ways to celebrate, but I honestly feel like I have to get up so early all the time that I can’t stomach going out the night before. I’m anxious the whole time and then I can’t sleep that night because I keep thinking that I’m going to oversleep and miss whatever important and mandatory event I’ve been scheduled into at that point in time.

I tell you what, I can’t wait until I can just go to work and come home and not have to worry about school! I’ll be so relieved! I’ll have time to cook, maybe catch a yoga class here or there, and I won’t have to worry about a 45 minute commute anywhere! Only (slightly less than) 16 weeks!!

It sounds so scary to only be 16 weeks from being on my own in a hospital. I know that I won’t be on my own technically and I’ll still have a mentor/preceptor for a while, but still, it’s weird to think that just a year ago I knew nothing about nursing, and now I’m almost done. But I know that there will be mucho mucho packed into these 16 weeks – and I’ll be lucky to get out alive.

Well – I need to take my contacts out and go watch some old 24 while I eat chicken tacos – TONY ALMEIDA 4EVA!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Bridge to 10K – Day One + School and Other Tidbits

  1. Michael Kraft says:

    Speed will come with time. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Listened to the ENTIRE Mandie and Michael Car Mix Vols. 1-3 on the car ride from LA last weekend and we were all laughing so hard. Miss you and still so glad this running is going well.

Leave a Reply

