Nose Breathing Optional

20121001-194852.jpg

So I still can’t breathe out my nose. Which made my run this morning awfully difficult. Luckily everyone around me had headphones in so they didn’t hear me heaving and gasping for breath.

I didn’t feel like I could catch my breath at all. And I felt like I was blowing snot everywhere. Gross. I’m gross. I’m a gross snotty mess.

In better news, my run went well today. I used the fancy new treadmills that feel like a track instead of concrete. Con: No fan. Pro: They feel nice and have cool basket things. As well as about 100 different options of what to watch on that tv. An assortment of 80’s videos featuring Hall & Oates “Maneater”?? Sign me up.

On the concrete TM I have issues with the pace. Any time I program the pace between 4.5 and 5.5 it fluctuates. It’s ridiculous. And 5.5 is way too fast for me, but 4.5 is too slow. I took a video of it the other day, but it was too blurry and you would probably throw up watching it.

Turns out 4.6 – 4.8 is a good speed for me. And I still did my minute or so at 6. It was tough. I was very tired. And I could only breathe through my mouth. This week for Bridge I’m doing 17 minute intervals with 1 minute of walking x3. I got to 4.75 in 1:06. I’m pretty pumped about that. And I wore my Mizunos today – and they treated me very well. I would definitely recommend you try some on.

Now, I’m waiting for some soup from Joel. He’s making it for me because he’s awesome. AWESOME.

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Nose Breathing Optional

  1. runnerbydefault says:

    Good job on your run. It is so hard for me to get motivated when I am sick like that so good job!! I think all treadmills fluctuate when it comes to actual speed. I thought I was really killing it on my old treadmill at 6mph but on my new one 6mph seems a lot faster!!

    • amandakash says:

      I skipped working out today because I still have The Crud and I wanted to keep my breath.
      The treadmill pace actually changes though! I will put it at 5 an it will go down to 4.7, then up to 5.1, then down to 4.9. It’s so crazy.

Leave a Reply

