Whoa, Whoa, Whoa, Stop the Clock

20121003-224223.jpg

I’m sitting here watching the 2012 Presidential Debate, but that’s not what we’re here to talk about. I 100% disagree with everything Mitt Romney says, but again, not the point of this post. The point of this post is to tell you how proud I am of my little sister for leading her Varsity middle school volleyball team to another district championship!

I went to the game after class with Joel. We went to a BBQ joint that was in one word, awful.

20121003-224209.jpg

So the game was exciting! They won the first, lost the second, and obviously won the third. They came out of the season regular season champs as well as district tournament champs. And I must say, the last two points of the game were her blocks. IN YOUR FACE!

20121003-224158.jpg

I had such a good time with Joel, my mom, and my other younger sister. Actually, the youngEST. Believe it or not, we are 17 years apart, oldest to youngest. So it makes for some very interesting holidays.

20121003-224146.jpg

Okay, detour. I have to do it.

I need to make my “closing statement” about the debate because I get incensed when I think about some of these issues. I cannot understand how you can be a woman and support Mitt Romney. I just don’t get it. Putting women’s rights back to the standards of the 50’s is absolutely inexcusable and abhorrent. Women are not sluts because they seek healthcare at Planned Parenthood. Birth control is not murder. And I don’t see how someone can look at the facts and not understand these concepts.

When someone says they are pro choice, it does not mean that they are pro abortion. It’s the same thing that Lewis Black said about the war, “just because you are against the war does not mean you are against the troops.”

It’s not black and white. It’s not easy. But it’s true. I know it’s hard for some people to wrap their minds around such abstract thoughts. And if I’ve lost some followers after these “closing statements”, so be it.

No one is perfect, but I do not believe that Mitt Romney is the man to lead our country. We do not need another four years of sweeping expenditures under the rug for the next administrator to find. We do not need someone who exported jobs from his own company out of the country, spewing a bunch of crap about the jobs he’s going to create.

Let me just finish by saying that Joel’s dad is a small business owner, in a red state (possibly THE REDDEST state in the nation) and he has clearly benefitted from Obama’s administration, and he’ll tell you so. But it’s because he’s educated, and he’s open minded, and he knows that most of the time, Republicans say they will help “the little guy”, and time after time it doesn’t happen.

Alright, didn’t mean for that to happen. I’m still fighting The Crud, so I’m going to bed.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

