I Am So Static

Pretty much sums it up.

I’ve been so unmotivated to do anything since “my incident“. I feel like I can’t exercise, because well, I really can’t since the doctor said to lay off until we figure out what happened. And I worked really hard one weekend to do a ton of homework so that I would  have fewer assignments due during my preceptorship, so now I haven’t done work in so long that I don’t even know how to begin.

I’m sitting here, with all of my stuff out and I just can’t bring myself to start working on this case study. It’s so much easier for me to get stuff done if I’m always busy, versus if I have four days to do one thing, I’ll wait until the last possible second to start working on it. I have a quiz and a case study due tomorrow and I really don’t care, haha. This is senioritis at its finest, folks. And I just hope it doesn’t derail me.

Since I’m not exercising, I haven’t done much except watch copious amounts of tv shows on Netflix and Amazon Instant. It’s really kind of tragic. I’ve cooked a little, but not much, and really I just lay on the couch all day. I think not only do I have senioritis but also I’m just plain ole burned out. This program is intense and even though I’m almost done (last final December 10th), I really can’t bring myself to put too much effort in. I guess that’s what I get for doing an accelerated baccalaureate nursing program.

In retrospect, I wouldn’t change my decision. Through all the bumps I don’t think another program would have been as helpful, and I surely would never undo the friendships that I’ve forged with the people in my cohort. We’re a bunch of weirdoes, and it’s awesome.

Speaking of weirdoes, my first clinical day with my preceptor went awesome. I’ve never been on a unit like this one and it’s amazing. It makes me question where I want to work when I’m finished. I desperately wanted to work on a pediatric unit, but since I didn’t get a pediatric preceptorship I am at a disadvantage when it comes to applying for jobs. I was super disappointed when I got my assignment, but I know that everything happens for a reason and it is all going to work out one way or another. The good thing about nursing is that I can always switch to another specialty, so I’ll figure it out at some point.

Still have more testing to do before we reach a verdict on what happened to me, had an MRI today and they had to stick me 4 times before they got the contrast in. Great. Thanks, for nothing.

People are not pin cushions!

So those are going to look super awesome in a few hours as they continue to bleed. Hooray. I’m a hard stick, with tiny, rolly veins, and they are my worst nightmare. Instances like this are why I work so hard to make sure I only have to stick people one time. So far, I’ve done that 100% of the time, but now I’m sure i just jinxed myself. I’m going to stop talking before I do it again…

xoxo

One thought on “I Am So Static

  1. Urban Running Girl says:

    So sorry you are not up to your old self. I truly hope everything is ok, and you get things worked out with your medical situation. I know from experience, when you are wondering…waiting, or dealing with perhaps some worry, sometimes we want to forget the world that we live in, and close ourselves off from our responsibilities. All the best to you. I do hope everything sorts itself out positively. 🙂

Leave a Reply

