Back on the Bandwagon

20130101-165552.jpg

[This is me. Crushing today.]

This morning I wanted to do it. I wanted to get out there and start my New Year right. I wanted to go out for a jog and feel good about it. No, I wanted to dominate my jog, without stopping, and I wanted to feel like Superwoman. And you know what, I was pretty close! I did some dynamic warm ups in the house and then just set out for my jog. I needed to get two miles in for my training, but I told myself that it would be okay if I had to take some walk breaks, especially since its been about ten years since I ran more than one mile at a time.

I didn’t take any walk breaks. DID YA HEAR THAT?? I DIDN’T TAKE ANY WALK BREAKS! Basically once I got out there I was good. I had to slow myself down a little, reminding myself that it doesn’t matter how slow I go, just keep moving. It was more important to me right now that I kept jogging instead of going too fast and burning out. So I just kept huffing, repeating to myself, “slow down, keep breathing, do not stop,” and it worked!! I’m actually kind of amazed that I had as good of a time that I did. I will admit that I felt a little wonky when I got home, which immediately made me concerned I was going to have another episode, but after I ate and warmed up (post shower I’m always freezing after a workout, anyone else??) I felt much better.

The training plan that I’m talking about is for the Run the Bluegrass half marathon at the end of March. Now before you get all cray cray, I’m only doing half of the half. So, a micro marathon if you will. It’s 7 miles of hilly bluegrass wonderment. I’ve read that it’s not a course to try to PR on, so it was probably a crap choice for my first race, but I’m okay with it. Eh, technically it won’t be my first race either, since I signed up to do a Color Me Rad 5k the first weekend in March, but all the reviews I’ve read make it out to be low key and crowded, plus it’s more of a fun run than a race anyway.

Are you running any races this year? What distances are you aiming for?

Before my incident I started using dailymile to track my runs in one place. Nike+ is great if that’s all you use but its worthless for those treadmill runs. I think you can also use dailymile to track other workouts and stuff, so it will be good for all of that cross training I need to incorporate. Anyway, I went back to it today so I will be able to look at all of my progress and success at the end of the year. I actually got the idea from John in his post about his accomplishments of 2012 – of which he had quite a few!!

What do you use to track your fitness and other progress?

I’m also embarking (again) in the Cannonball Read this year. The idea of the CBR came from two folks on a website that I frequent, Pajiba. The race was to read 100 books in a year and blog about it. Sadly, one of the participants passed away of cancer before she was able to complete the race. However, since then it has taken on a life of its own. The ultimate goal is to read 52 books in a year, but you can also do a half or a quarter. Each book needs to be reviewed on the group blog, and for each person who finishes the full 52 books, a donation is made to the American Cancer Society. I love reading. And now that I have a Kindle and an iPad, I can read EVERYWHERE. I’ll probably cross post here, so look for some reviews coming soon. Right now I’m reading Child of the Northern Spring, the first book of the Guinevere trilogy by Persia Woolley. So far it’s very well written and interesting.

Have you read any good books recently? How many books do you think you read in a year?

Gonna get back to it, until then…

xoxo

4 thoughts on “Back on the Bandwagon

  1. runnerbydefault says:

    Great job on the run!! I always tell myself that slow and steady is better than nothing at all! My next race is a half marathon in Little Rock, Arkansas. They have huge medals and I am all about the bling! I use the Nike+GPS to track my runs. Since I always run on the treadmill, I have to calibrate all my runs. I can’t wait to read your book reviews. I love to read! Last book I read was Gone Girl. It was really good!! Happy New Year to you!

Leave a Reply

