Hoorah for Cross Training

tumblr_mfyi2yxhEK1r1u0gno1_250

I hear so many regular runners talk about how they need to incorporate more strength training. I understand the merits of it, especially on non-running days, and I definitely need more of something in my life. So that’s what I did today. I’ve decided that my running days are Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays, and then I just try to do something else on the other days. So far it’s just been running aaaaaand nothing, hahaha.

But today I did this workout from Fitness magazine. It was way harder than I thought it was going to be, because the professional fitness person demonstrating it made it look so easy!! I mean geez. There were some moves that were easier than I thought (the tabletop row) and then others I struggled to get through 5 reps. Mainly the plank and anything involving my core. I need to work on my core strength like whoa.

Overall it was hard but good and I will be doing it on Wednesday if I don’t do some yoga. Maybe both. I love yoga. I LOVE IT.

If you haven’t started reading Skinny Runner yet, that’s a shame because you should. Anyway, for my female readers (or male readers who want to get something for their lady friends) head over to her blog for a super awesome baller giveaway from Hair Envy. I super want to win though so back off.

I’ve started on book three for the CBR5. I’ve gone to “regular” books because I have vowed to read all the books on my bookshelf that I haven’t already read before I buy new ones. We’ll see how long that lasts…

Do you have any recommendations of books for me to read?

Have my refresher CPR class tomorrow. WOO HOOOOO!!!

xoxo

Aaaaaand here’s another old school commercial that I still imitate. GIVE. ME. A. WHOPPER.

13 thoughts on “Hoorah for Cross Training

  1. Colin DeWaay says:

    I’ve never read this book but I know people who have and the title alone is something I really stand for. It’s called “The New Rules of Lifting for Women: Lift Like a Man, Look Like a Goddess.”

    Oh and LOL’ing about you and your commercials. 🙂

  2. Charlotte says:

    Charlotte’s list of top five books (so far) A Prayer for Owen Meany (Irving); Poisonwood Bible (Kingsolver); Ishmael (Quinn); Skinny Legs and All (Robbins- actually I think Fierce Invalids Home from Hot Climates is better but more people enjoy Skinny)
    Also, when you’re making moolah, you should buy a bike and come riding with me.

    • Charlotte says:

      Oh um, I left off Lord of the Rings. Hopefully though, you’ve already hit that. I was pretty bummed that I missed my opportunity to sign up for that cannonball read thing. For the first time in my life, I’m reading 4 books at a time and I totally could’ve accomplished that.

Leave a Reply

