Last Week of Freedom

Yes, I found this on a grief counseling website.

Yes, I found this on a grief counseling website.

Here it is folks, my last week of freedom before I start orientation for my new (and first) job as a registered nurse! I’ve done well so far getting my workouts in, but I haven’t made studying a priority and I need to incorporate more of that starting today. I am so nervous/scared/excited/terrified/relieved to finally be working again after a long time of not bringing home my part of the income. We have a big massive orientation Monday – Wednesday of next week and then we break into our nursing pods I guess to get more unit specific orientation. At least that’s what we’ve been told.

I got my 3 miles in today, as awful as they were, on the dreadmill again. Now, you all know that I can tolerate a cold weather run, but even I have to draw the line somewhere. And that somewhere is here:

I have to draw the line at "FEELS LIKE -2".

I have to draw the line at “FEELS LIKE -2”.

When I saw that I was thinking to myself, “You are going to have to suck it up and log those miles on the treadmill whether you like it or not!!!” So I did. Kind of. The gym is set up in this tiny room off the clubhouse and there are no blinds on the windows. Which is fine when the sun isn’t beating down on your face and body while no air is circulating in the room. So you basically feel like you’re suffocating to death while baking in the sun, all the while trying to run and not die. Toward the end I was running all the way to the left of the belt with my head cocked to the side so that I wasn’t blinded. It was pretty unpleasant. But I did better than I have done previously. I ran 1 mile, walked 1 lap, ran 1 mile, walked 1 lap, then ran the remaining 2 laps. It took me about 45 minutes because I wanted to make sure I went slow enough to be able to complete the miles. Plus I finished Vol. 1 of Kill Bill so it looks like it’s time to convert Vol. 2!

That calorie count seems awfully high...

That calorie count seems awfully high…

I’ve been disappointed in my weight loss, or lack there of, in this past month. I thought for sure with not working or being in school that the weight would melt off because I’ve been so dedicated to my goals. Not. If I’m honest with myself I have made tremendous strides fitness wise but I am still half-assing my diet. I’ve been better these past few weeks but there are still times when I feel sorry for myself and try to treat that emotion with food. I think that Joel and I have taken some big steps in eliminating junky foods from the house so that the temptation isn’t there, but I know once I start working again that they will be. So it’s really important for me to make sure I plan out not only meals but snacks as well so that I’m always prepared. Much easier said than done, I know.

I’ve been hovering at 230 for the past six months or so, and while I’m glad I haven’t gained any substantial weight, I am still disappointed that I can’t seem to lose any. But I am making sure to track everything, even if it puts me over my calorie intake for the day, because I know it’s important to realize what I’m eating, and more so how much of it. Weight Watchers really helped me to get down substantially before, so I am thinking that I may go back to that once I start making money – which should be next month!!

Have you tried WW before? Do you use a calorie counter? Have you struggled to take off some unwanted weight?

xoxo

7 thoughts on “Last Week of Freedom

  1. kimramirez says:

    I use livestrong and I like it. I have trouble actually losing weight, worked my butt off for 6 weeks and only lost 4 measly pounds, but I did lose a ton of inches. Have you measured yourself and tracked that as well as your weight? That may help encourage you šŸ™‚

  2. Michael Kraft says:

    I was running upwards of 8 miles a day my junior year in college and only gained weight. When I got my first job, I hired a trainer… the weight fell off. It was pricey, but I just cut back in other facets of life, and it was totally worth it. They teach you that running alone can’t do it. you have to cross train… I’d recommend it after you start the ole job!

    • amandakash says:

      Thanks dude. I’m trying to incorporate it more now since I know it will help with losing the weight and improving my running. Just biding time until I get that first paycheck!!

  3. Colin DeWaay says:

    My wife used WW many years ago and lost 50 pounds with it. It works, but only if you keep up with it the way it’s suppose to be. If you aren’t tracking your food and really staying on top of it, just like with any program, it’s not going to work.

    Get that diet in check and that weight will in fact melt off! I just started using My Fitness Pal, makes it pretty darn easy to track your calories and macros and everything. Lose It is another one that’s similar. They can be used simultaneously with your smartphone if you have one and on the website on a computer. You can even just scan barcodes with your foods that have them to enter them. For weight loss I’d say it’s about 70% food 30% exercise, many will say it’s even more food than that. Either way a good combo is the best way!

    • amandakash says:

      Thanks Colin. I used WW and lost over 30 but then everyone (it felt like) died and I gained it all back. I’m using myfitnesspal now and I like it, when I track. There was a point on WW where I really just fell into sync with it and it was so easy. That hasn’t happened yet with MFP, but I think I’m just not being honest with myself yet.

      • Colin DeWaay says:

        Cool. Yeah the key to any program is really following it the way it’s suppose to be used. If you do that just about any program will be effective. Like they say just because you don’t track something doesn’t mean it’s not in your body. šŸ™‚ The good thing is you are recognizing what’s going on and have a good idea what you need to do. That’s the first step. If WW has worked before and you like it, then it’s probably a good idea. Either way I have total faith you’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

