Training Train Wreck

Restless Egg Syndrome.

Restless Egg Syndrome.

So I’m an idiot. I just realized this morning that I bought concert tickets for us for Christmas for the night before Run the Bluegrass. AND THE CONCERT IS IN ANOTHER STATE. Words cannot describe how upset I am with myself for this massive scheduling conflict. I feel like all of my training thus far was for naught and that I will surely burn out before another race comes around that I can fit into my life. I thought maybe I could do the Derby Half or the Pig Half instead since they are a few weeks later, but then I realized that in order to avoid another scheduling conflict, I’ll have to wait since I don’t have a schedule. And I hate it.

 

That’s right! We started on Monday and I do not have a schedule for longer than three weeks out. Which is obnoxious since we are supposed to be on orientation for 12-13 weeks, so that is a large chunk of time that is unaccounted for and leaves me feeling helpless and like I can’t make any plans. I thought I was done being strung along at school! Turns out that until I can make my schedule, I am at the mercy of everyone else’s. And it’s not like we work a typical 9 – 5 / M – F, so I can’t even block out my time that way.

To make matters worse, I have completely fallen off my training plan. I haven’t run since Tuesday, and I ate twice the amount of calories yesterday as I needed to (thanks, Hooters). UGH. I am so frustrated right now. And I’m so stressed that I can’t even sit down and clear my head enough to study for my boards because I just keep thinking about all the crap that I’m not getting done and how I’m going to do it!

Have you ever felt like your life and schedule were at the mercy of someone else? How do you deal with massive upsets in your plans?

I know that everything will work out – it just seems like everything is unravelling right now and I can’t handle it.

xoxo

7 thoughts on “Training Train Wreck

  1. Colin DeWaay says:

    Definitely not a waste at all! It’s gone you healthier and it better shape. If you end up doing a different run later on you now have a head start on it! A workout is never for nothing. 🙂

    • amandakash says:

      So true. I think that’s one of the reasons I’m glad I have smart people commenting on here! It’s so easy to stay down when you don’t tell people about how you’re feeling, because then they can’t help you turn it around.

      • Colin DeWaay says:

        Wow holy typos in my comment! LOL Anyway yeah it’s definitely great to get it all out there. If you keep it to yourself it will just eat at you and spiral and there will be nobody to support you! Everyone needs support.

  2. Holly A. says:

    Oh booo! I hate it when that happens and can totally relate to the feeling that you may crack (or even burst) at any moment. I think prioritizing and keeping with it is all that counts. With your will, you’ll find a way! Even if it annoys you along the road to it… 🙂

  3. runnerbydefault says:

    I overbooked myself once but I was able to sell my comedy show tickets on craiglist and still go on the cruise. I don’t know if you are overly excited about the event but you might be able to get rid of the tickets if you tried. I was shocked that I got face value for mine so I didn’t even lose anything. Good luck. I hope it all works out for you!

    • amandakash says:

      If it were for me I would sell them but I bought them as a gift for my boyfriend. It was part of his Christmas gift. There’s no way I can do that to him – I would feel so terrible!!

Leave a Reply

