Clarity

20130407-120305.jpg

In defense of my last post, I was definitely having a lot of feelings, but what I think got lost were some pretty critical points. I am not unhappy, in any way, shape or form, that I have chosen nursing as a career. In fact, quite the opposite. I’m thrilled that I am now part of a profession so diverse and evolving. And rewarding! Even if I have a bad day as far as my “outcome” or goals for patient care, I still know that I am pushing myself and will continue to grow. And that honestly and truly, there was nothing more I could have done.

What I sometimes fail to remember is that in a few years if I no longer feel challenged or am just completely unhappy, there are 700,000 different avenues of nursing I can go down without having to go back to school. There may be additional certifications or training – but they don’t require another degree. And that’s not something you can say for every profession.

So guys, don’t worry about me. I’m not having a meltdown, or regretting any decisions. I’m good. I’m just finding my footing. And in a few years when I end up in the hospital because my AVM ruptures and I have a subarachnoid bleed, at least I’ll know all the nurses taking care of me.

xoxo

3 thoughts on “Clarity

Leave a Reply

