Tappity Tap Taperoo

IMG_0130.JPG
[source]

I know I talk about ballet a lot on here, but I truly love my tap classes as well. I love how difficult it is, even though it seems deceptively simple. I love that you essentially have to teach yourself, since it’s mostly just foot movements. And you have to think of your foot as two separate pieces, a toe and a heel, but you can’t think about it too much because if you get in your head you’ll get stuck.

While I have taken ballet before and am returning to it as an adult, I have never taken a tap class before that I can remember. Having a background in dance helps with combinations, but that’s about it. So I was looking for some YouTube videos to supplement my one hour a week and I stumble on this series from Mahalo. They were actually really instructional, as opposed to the tens of videos of tweens tapping around in their bedroom gushing about One Direction.

IMG_0129.JPG
[source]

Anyway, I saw in one of the videos that there is an app, so I go to check that out and it’s $1.99 for like 80 some videos, including combinations for each level. Beginner, intermediate, and advanced with sections on time steps, riffs and more. There are 8 “chapters”, the first being intro and warm up, the second being beginner, etc. I figure $2 is worth having all the videos organized. Plus it keeps track of the ones you do and has a progress bar. Neat.

You also have the option of downloading the videos to work on them offline. Needless to say after all that, I bought the app and then pranced around in my tap shoes for an hour. Mostly because I didn’t feel like running. Yayyyyy ineffective cardio.

Now I want MOAR TAP SHOES!!!!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

