VINDICATION.

I grab the title of this blog from my friend Chris, who has an uncanny ability to sum up everything I need and want to say in much more concise and intelligent words that I can.  Last month I got an e-mail from Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor fraternity for two-year institutions.  This is kind of a big deal for me, because even though I had the minimum GPA and other credentials for national honor society in high school, I was not invited to join.  Neither was Chris.  I think he may have joined senior year, but I was not as lucky.

I know that it’s only a two-year institution, but I’ve worked my butt off to get and maintain an A average while working full time (for the most part).  I hope that it can lead to more opportunities and open a few doors down the road.  If I don’t get into the program that I applied to last month, I’ll have to start applying again and I’ll be able to use the advisors of PTK for recommendations, which will be awesome.

Now, a little about this weather…

I live in what would be considered The South.  And it’s freaking cold.  We’ve had minimal snow compared to what I’m used to in northern states, but it’s still been almost debilitating.  There’s almost no budget for snow removal around here, so when it rains, it pours, and we can’t move it anywhere.  Eventually someone clears some of the main roads, but it doesn’t do you any good if you’re slamming into cars in the neighborhood you live in or the cars that are parked on the side of the road.  Joel and I figure that one in every four people here have a pick up truck, so why not sponsor some citizens snow removal project?  Or attach them to garbage trucks like bigger cities?  Any of these would work for us.  Just sayin’.

I did my taxes last night!  I know, I’m so proactive you could die.  But this is also a big deal, since it’s the first time I’ve ever done them by myself.  Usually my dad does them since he’s an accountant, but I’m not pleased with him right now, so I took matters into my own hands.  I got the best refund I’ve ever gotten in my life. Yay for going to school and working!!!  Thanks Obama!  Let’s do lunch!

The thing I’m really excited about is that my refund will pay for almost a semester of tuition.  That’s a couple thousand dollars that I don’t have to go into student loan debt, and I’m all for that.  File your taxes!  Shovel your sidewalks!  Do your homework!  Be safe!

xoxo, Kash

Leave a Reply

