Pasta Forever

20120820-212010.jpg

I could eat pasta every day, for every meal, for the rest of my life and never be tired of it. With sauce, with olive oil, with butter, with meat, without meat, but always with cheese. Spaghetti, linguine, farfalle, mostaccioli, tagliatelle, you name it, I love it. It is by far and away my number one trigger food, and is likely the cause of many a downward spiral in my dieting plans. This is not a tale of how to overcome trigger foods. I don’t know how to do it. Maybe one day I’ll be able to just eat one serving and walk away, but today is not that day.

Right now, I’m okay with it, since I ran this morning. Am I allowed to eat lots of pasta as long as I run? Is this another moderation thing? Because honestly I would run 10 miles a day if I could eat as much pasta as I actually want to.

My run was super awkward though. I tried to integrate Adidas MiCoach into my training but I was on the treadmill. Does anyone know how to do that? Is it possible? I did about 3.25 miles in I think around 45 minutes, but I really have no idea. I didn’t start the app immediately because I forgot, and then I had to play musical treadmills because of some malfunctions.

The dumb things would not stay at 5. They kept jumping around from 4.7 – 5.3 for no apparent reason. I moved to another one but same thing. I moved it up to 5.3, but after a few minutes that was pretty hard so I had to drop it down to 4.5 to keep it consistent and runnable. Anything over that it would jump around, and every time it went low I would stumble, so I knew it was an accident waiting to happen.

I’m also not sure how long I actually ran. I think it was about 2.75. My first and last 0.25 were warmup and cooldown. But I hate treadmill running. It sucks. It’s boring, I don’t go as fast, and even with the built in fan there is no breeze to keep the sweat out of my eyes. Yuck. I can’t wait until it cools down and I can run outside later than 6AM. So judging by the seasons so far, that’ll be about November…

Our last first day of school was today and we were all very surprised that we got a syllabus day. We haven’t had a syllabus day ever, in all of nursing school, so that was a treat. I’m sure I’ll have much more to share on this in the coming weeks, and it will be less of a treat. We have sixteen weeks left until we graduate, the countdown begins!

Since I was at school I couldn’t do my usual post run icing and I was aching when I got home. Have you ever gotten to a point in your running where you just need to take some ibuprofen afterwards? I took one when I got home and it’s doing wonders for my knee and calves. Oh modern medicine. I don’t want to get into a habit of taking too many because I know that it can tear you up, so I will usually wait until after I’ve iced and rested for a while before I take them. What’s your strategy?

I’m going to go back to dreaming about fields of pasta and garlic bread.

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Pasta Forever

  1. SlimShanaynay says:

    Oh… pasta. I love me some pasta. It’s a weakness of mine as well. As far as the leg pain, I don’t think I’m running enough yet to have real issues with this. I don’t ever have soreness the next day, or even the day of the run. I’m sure I will once I get past the interval training and run continuously. Wish I had advice.

Leave a Reply

